Tag Archives: 5 stars

Malaysia Airlines Destinations

The story of Malaysia Airlines starts in the golden age of travel. A joint initiative of the Ocean Steamship Company of Liverpool, the Straits Steamship of Singapore and Imperial Airways led to a proposal to the Colonial Straits Settlement government to run an air service between Penang and Singapore. The result was the incorporation of Malayan Airways Limited (MAL) on 12 October 1937.

On 2 April 1947, MAL took to the skies with its first commercial flight as the national airline. Fuelled by a young and dynamic team of visionaries, the domestic carrier turned into an international airline in less than a decade.

With the formation of Malaysia in 1963, the airline changed its name to Malaysian Airlines Limited. Soon after, Borneo Airways was incorporated into MAL. Within 20 years, MAL grew from a single aircraft operator into a company with 2,400 employees and a fleet operator using the then latest Comet IV jet aircraft, six F27s, eight DCs and two Pioneers.

In 1965, with the separation of Singapore from Malaysia, MAL became a bi-national airline and was renamed Malaysia-Singapore Airlines (MSA). A new logo was introduced and the airline grew exponentially with new services to Perth, Taipei, Rome and London. However, in 1973, the partners went separate ways. Malaysia introduced Malaysian Airline Limited, which was subsequently renamed Malaysian Airline System or in short, Malaysia Airlines. Today, Malaysia Airlines flies around 100 destinations worldwide.

The airline holds a lengthy record of service and best practices excellence, having received more than 100 awards in the last 10 years.

Alor Setar – AOR
Bakalalan – BKM
Bintulu – BTU
Johor Bahru – JHB
Kota Bharu – KBR
Kota Kinabalu – BKI
Kuala Lumpur – KUL
Kuala Terengganu – TGG
Kuantan – KUA
Kuching – KCH
Kudat – KUD
Labuan – LBU
Lahad Datu – LDU
Langkawi – LGK
Lawas – LWY
Limbang – LMN
Long Akah – LKH
Long Banga – LBP
Long Lellang – LGL
Long Seridan – ODN
Marudi – MUR
Miri – MYY
Mukah – MKM
Mulu – MZV
Penang – PEN
Sandakan – SDK
Sibu – SBW
Tanjung Manis – TGC
Tawau – TWU

Buenos Aires – EZE

Continue reading